Political and opinion leaders across party divides in Kwara North have said that Kwara’s next governor in 2023 should emerge from the northern senatorial zone of the state.

According to a communique, signed by fifty-one (51) stakeholders, issued at the end of their meeting on Monday, reiterated that political and economic emancipation of their land and people is no longer negotiable.

Stating their goals, the stakeholders said there is the need to create a stronger bond of unity and common political agenda aimed at the emancipation of Kwara North from political, educational, economical marginalisation and underdevelopment of the zone.

The stakeholders also resolved “to carry along the political interest of Moro LGA and its developmental activities”.

Part of the communique reads, “Whereas, for equity, fairness and justice the meeting called on the leadership of all Political parties in the state that the Governorship of Kwara state should be rotational among the three Senatorial zones in the State beginning with Kwara North in 2023.”

The Kwara North senatorial district is yet to produce a governor of the state since the return to civilian rule in 1999, almost 20 years ago. The incumbent governor, AbdulRahman AbddulRazaq, is from Kwara central.

The communique was signed by fifty-five (51) stakeholders from the five (5) local government areas in Kwara North.

The signatories are; Baruteen – Rt Hon Bio Issa Ibrahim, Alh Ibrahim Woru, Hon Saidu Issa Abdullahi, Hon Usman Adamu Fawa, Alh Umaru Gunu, Alh Adamu katas, Hon Ishiak Baba Mohammed, Alh Jubril Abubakar Tafida, Alh Alhassan Shero Aliyu, Alh Suleiman Ahmed Shiya, Hon Hashim Mora; Edu – Sen Alh Mohammed Shaaba Lafiagi, Alh Shehu Abdulrahman, Alh M T Mamman, Alh S Y Abdullahi, Dr Mohammed N Haruna Tsaragi, Mr Timothy Saba, Alh Tajudeen Abdulkadir, Alh Alfa Shonga, Engr Umaru Sha’aba, Alh Mohamed Kudu; Moro – Alh Shuaib Baba Jimoh, Alh Salihu Mohammed, Alh Issa Aremu, Alh Buhari Ibrahim, Alh Issa Mohammed Jamiu, Alh S A Jimoh, Chief Sunday Ogunniyi, Chief Amos Akintunde, Chief Gabriel Akinloye.

Others are; Kaiama – Sen Haliru Idris Kaiama, Hon Alhassn Bagidi, Alh Abubakar Zhigi, Alh Mohamed Haliru Madugu Kaiama, Hon Adamu Bawa, Hon Yusuf Bukar, Hon Sadiq Ahmed, Hon Sulaiman Baziki, Hon Abubakar Mora, Hon Abubakar Suka Baba; Patigi – Rt Hon Benjamin Issah, Sen Ahmed Baba Zuruk, Alh Attahiru Abdulkadir Manko, Alh Dabarako Mohammad Ptg, Alh Zubairu Abubakar, Alh Kollo Rifun, Alh Sule Ahman Patigi, Com Abdullahi Lade, Alh Shaaba Usman Patigi, Alh Aliu Mohammed Lade, Hon Mohamed Ibrahim Imam Patigi.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Characters: 0/150