20220930 124849

FIFA,CAF Representatives present as Benin go agog for NFF Election

FIFA,CAF Representatives present as Benin go agog for NFF Election

The Capital city of Edo State, Benin is currently the cynosure of all eyes across the world as the NFF 78th Annual General Assembly and Elective congress holds at the Edo Heritage Hotel.

As at the time if filing this report, the outgoing Executive members including President Amaju Pinnick are all on ground at the meeting that was declared open by the Deputy Governor of Edo State, Rt. Honourable Philip Shuaib.

Recall that some football stakeholders under the auspices of Professional Footballers Association of Nigeria (PFAN) had earlier obtained a court injunction to stop the election from holding- a move which they said it’s consequential to the refusal of the current NFF board to expand the congress of the football body and give equal and fair representation to stakeholders.

Meanwhile a ruling by the Court of Appeal on Thursday morning ordered a stay-of-execution of an ex parte injunction secured by PFAN stakeholders a fortnight ago to stop the elections, thus clearing the coast for 10 prominent individuals and dozen of other notable persons jostling for seats on the Executive Committee.

Among the 10 persons jostling to succeed Pinnick as Nigeria football’s supremo are former vice presidents, Barr. Seyi Akinwunmi (1st VP) and Mallam Shehu Dikko (2nd VP), as well as former Executive Committee Member and Chairman of Chairmen, Alhaji Ibrahim Musa Gusau and former Executive Committee Member, Hon. Suleiman Yahaya-Kwande.

Also in the hunt for the exalted post are past General Secretary; Barr. Musa Amadu, Head of Safety and Security of the Confederation of African Football;Dr. Christian Emeruwa, Chairman of the FCT Football Association; Mallam Adam Mouktar Mohammed, former Nigeria international goalkeeper; Peterside Idah; former Chairman of Kano Pillars FC and respected technocrat, Alhaji Abba Abdullahi Yola and UK-based David-Buhari Doherty.

The elections, which will be witnessed by FIFA and CAF Representatives is expected to commence after other items on the agenda for the 78th Annual General Assembly have been dealt with. Winners would be sworn in immediately after the elections.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.