8BC06DA3 5754 4A41 851C 20DC3FBB33F4

15-member committee to oversee farm inputs distribution in Kwara

The Kwara Government has set up a committee of 15 officials to distribute farm inputs to genuine farmers across the state. The committee, which includes various government officials and representatives from agricultural associations, aims to ensure that the distribution process is efficient and reaches the intended beneficiaries.

The committee is chaired by the Commissioner for Agriculture, Mrs. Oloruntoyosi Thomas. Other members include the Commissioner for Local Government, Chieftaincy Affairs, and Community Development, Hon. Abubakar Abdullahi Bata; the Commissioner for Planning and Economic Development, Hon. Aliyu Kora Sabi; and the Senior Special Assistant on Community Development, Dr. Lawal Olohungbebe.

Additionally, Dr. Abdurrahman Akindele Ayuba represents civil society organizations, while Mrs. Funke Sokoya, the Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Agriculture, and Mr. Idris Jimoh, Director of Planning, Research, and Statistics, also serve on the committee.

The committee also includes Dr. Khadijat Alege, Managing Director of Kwara ADP; Alhaji Sidiq Abdullahi, Chairman of the Rice Farmers Association of Nigeria (RIFAN) in Kwara State; Hon. Mahmud Aboki, Chairman of Kwara State AFAN; and Mr. Salihu Mohammed, the State Coordinator.

Other members are Mr. Solomon Olawoyin, Chairman of the Soybean Association; a representative of Women in Agriculture; a representative of the Maize Farmers Association; and Hajia Hafsat Hussein, Director of Agriculture Services, who will act as the secretary.

The committee is responsible for ensuring smooth distribution of inputs, coordinating logistics, and addressing any issues that arise before, during, and after the distribution exercise.

The Commissioner for Agriculture noted that the committee would begin distribution by the end of the week, adhering to the details of registered beneficiaries.

This initiative follows a registration and verification exercise conducted by the Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Development to identify real farmers at their farm locations.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *