Dapo Abiodun 1

The Governor of Ogun State, Dapo Abiodun, has been declared the winner of the governorship election by the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC.

The Governor is recontesting for the position on the platform of the All Progressives Congress, APC in the state.

The state returning officer for the election, Professor Kayode Adebowale, while declaring the results of the election, announced that Abiodun had 276,298 votes.

The governorship candidate of the People’s Democratic Party, PDP, Hon Ladipupo Adebutu had 262,383 votes.

The African Democratic Congress (ADC) governorship candidate, Biyi Otegbeye polled 94,754 votes.

According to the electoral commission, Abiodun secured victory in 12 local governments while Adebutu, secured victory in 8 local government areas.

The PDP  has presented a petition, to the electoral commission, demanding the electoral commission, to conduct a rerun in some polling units, where there were cancellation of results as a result of malfunction of BVAS and violence.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Characters: 0/150