By: Abdulganeey Adeyemi Abiola

Last week Thursday, the traditional ruler of Ajegunle community in Oro-Ago district of Ifelodun Local Government Area of Kwara State, Oba Yusuf Sanni reportedly died of shock complications.

Meanwhile, there have been speculations rising on social and mainstream media that the cause of the death is not unconnected to the denial of Staff of Office to the monarch alongside his sister community of Ahun.

A source from the community who confided in THE INFORMANT247 claimed that the late Oba Yusuf could not help the situation having qualified for necessary conditions required to be met for elevation by the Ministry of Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs in the state and yet being denied Staff of Office by the governor.

“This is extremely bad, speaks ill and less expectant on the part of Oloro of Oro- Ago, Oba Sunday Dada, who is believed to have been blocking the ways of the two communities with the help of the Deputy Governor of the state, Otunba Kayode Alabi, who has equally been accused of ‘sentiment’ in the local government area where he hails from,” the source added.

Recall that THE INFORMANT247 in a report has recently narrated the ordeal of Ahun and Ajegunle communities on the ground of what could lead to inter-communal crises and religious tensions among neighbouring communities.

According to the earlier report, the two communities had alleged that they are receiving such bitter treatments because they are believed to be dominated by Muslim faithful, unlike their neighbouring communities which are dominated largely by Christian believers.

“They have accused the Christian Association on Nigeria (CAN) chapter in Oro-Ago district of fanning the ember of disunity, rebellions, and vendettas among individual communities.”

The Kwara State governor, AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq had presented staffs of office to seven monarchs exactly 10 days ago.

The monarchs are: Olokeopin of Oke-Opin Oba Ezekiel Ajibola Arigbajoye; Onimasudo of Masudo Oba Abdulwahab Bolaji Usman; Aniwo of Afin, Ile-Ire, Oba Simeon Ibiyinka Olaonipekun; Asa-Oro of Alasaro Oba Moses Adesina; Eleku of Odo-Eku Oba Abdulwahab Ogunbiyi; Oninaja of Inaja Inaja-Alaro Oba Ganiyu Olarewaju; and Onilupeju of Ilupeju Oba Muhammed Olanrewaju Odunade.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Characters: 0/150