Xabi Alonso’s Bayer Leverkusen become first Bundesliga team to complete season unbeaten after a 2-1 victory against Augsburg

Xabi Alonso’s Bayer Leverkusen, on Saturday, made history to become the first team in the German Bundesliga to complete a season unbeaten after beating Augsburg 2-1.

Having wrapped up the title several weeks ago, the final league match of the season was always set to be a joyous occasion for Xabi Alonso’s men in front of their home fans, and they did not disappoint as the goals from Victor Boniface and Robert Andrich in the 12th and 17th minutes secured Leverkusen’s victory, while Augsburg’s Met Komur pulled one back in the 62nd minute.


The atmosphere at the BayArena was in a frenzy and celebration following the season’s last game.

Leverkusen had never won a league title in their 120-year history prior to this season, but they romped away with the Bundesliga this time around, finishing on 90 points from 34 matches, with 28 wins and six draws. Arsenal’s famous Invincibles side finished with 26 wins and 12 draws from 38 matches in 2003-04.

Leverkusen secured 89 goals and conceded just 24 in all 38 matches played in the league to highlight their dominance.


Alonso’s men finished 17 points clear of second-placed Stuttgart, who overtook Harry Kane’s Bayern Munich in the table on the final day.

Bayern collapsed to a 4-2 defeat after racing into a two-goal lead against Hoffenheim with Kane absent due to a back injury.

However, Stuttgart eased past Borussia Monchengladbach 4-0 to jump a point and a place above Thomas Tuchel’s side.


Leverkusen have also thrived in other competitions and remain on course to win an unprecedented Treble without losing a single game.

Alonso’s team have not lost any of their last 51 matches and are into the final of the Europa League, where they will face Serie A outfit Atalanta on Wednesday night.


They will then take on Kaiserslautern in the German Cup final next Saturday.

Leverkusen have only previously won the Europa League once when it was known as the UEFA Cup back in 1987-88.


They have also won the German Cup (DFB-Pokal) once in 1993 and have finished runners-up in the competition three times since.

The club, #bayer04_en, in a series of tweets posted, “𝟎 𝐁𝐮𝐧𝐝𝐞𝐬𝐥𝐢𝐠𝐚 𝐃𝐞𝐟𝐞𝐚𝐭𝐬.







Last month, Leverkusen lifted the Bundesliga title for the first time in their 120-year history on Sunday, a 5-0 victory over Werder Bremen, breaking Bayern Munich’s 11-year stranglehold on the German top flight.


Leverkusen’s maiden title, coming after five second-place finishes in their history, keeps their dream of a remarkable treble alive while shedding their unwanted ‘Neverkusen’ nickname for good.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *