IMG 20221025 WA0007

Shagaya gives scholarships, academic materials to students in ASA LG

The House of Representatives Candidate for Ilorin West/Asa Federal Constituency of Kwara State, on the platform of All Progressives Congress (APC), Muktar Tolani Shagaya, has given tuition-free scholarships to more than 100 students in different junior and senior secondary schools in Asa Local Government.

The scholarship package was championed by by a youth group, Muktar Shagaya Youth Forum (MSYF).

The scholarship intervention has been described as a regular charity gesture from his Muktar Shagaya Movement (MSM).

Basheer Luqman, who’s the Director of Media and Publicity of the movement, lamented that the number of out of school children have increased as parents do not have the financial capability to bankroll their children’s education, most especially the inability to pay their school fees, or make provision for basic writing and readings materials.

He added that it was high time the influential people rose up to the occasion.

“Every year, we assist students through scholarships and artisans through requisite tools and training empowerment. Two weeks ago, in our first phase of the scholarship scheme, we supported indigent students in Ilorin West Local Government of various schools, with tuition-free scholarships, bags, books and several academic materials and it covered over 300 students. We are determined to do more and are using the MSM as a rallying point, to draft in other well-to-do Nigerians into the charity train.”

Mr Alkali while also speaking on behalf of the candidate, said the demand to help the poor gingered his aspiration to get elected as Member of House of Representatives with the hope that he will work on the boys and girls roaming about the streets with no gainful employment, by facilitating empowerment and sponsoring small-scale enterprises.

The selected schools who benefited from the scholarship intervention were: Lasoju Comprehensive High School; Government Secondary School Alapa; Ballah Junior and Senior Secondary School; Budo Egba Grammar School; Igboroko-Afon Secondary School and Otte Elite Secondary School.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *