Gboyega Oyetola and Ademola Adeleke

The Governor of Osun State, Ademola Adeleke has suspended 3 traditional rulers who were appointed by the immediate past Governor of the State, Gboyega Oyetola.

The Governor has ordered the suspension of the Owa of Igbajo, Adegboyega Famodun, Aree of Iree, Oba Ademola Oluponle; and Akirun of Ikirun, Oba Yinusa Akadiri.

The signed statement released by the spokesperson of the new Governor, Olawale Rasheed, on Monday, reads in part: “All appointments of traditional rulers made by Osun State Government after 17th July 2022, are hereby ordered to be reviewed to ensure there was strict compliance with due process of chieftaincy declarations and native law, custom, and tradition relating to such chieftaincies.

“In the case of Ikirun, Iree and Igbajo, to avoid further breakdown of law and order, the appointments of Akinrun of Ikinrun, Aree of Ire and Owa of Igbajo are hereby put on hold pending review.

“Subsequently, the palaces of Akinrun of Ikirun, Aree of Iree and Owa of Igbajo should remain unoccupied, while security agencies are hereby ordered to take charge.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Characters: 0/150