images 72

National Honours Award: Abdulrahman congratulates awardees from Kwara 

The Kwara state Governor, Abdulrahman Abdulrazaq has congratulated all the recipients of the national awards presented by President Muhammadu Buhari on Tuesday in Abuja.

In a series of tweets on his Twitter handle, Abdulrahman congratulated the awardees for their outstanding contributions to the development of the country

He said: “I congratulate all the 11 outstanding personalities from Kwara who received different national awards today, October 11, 2022 from President Muhammadu Buhari.”

Informant247 reports that 11 persons from Kwara are conferred by various award honour out of 437 persons shortlisted for the award.

The awardees from Kwara includes, former President of the Nigeria Court of Appeal Justice Ayo Salami, CFR; Chief Judge of Kwara State Justice Sulyman Durosinlohun Kawu, OFR and retired Grand Kadi of Kwara State Shariah Court of Appeal Justice Idris Abdullahi Haroon, OFR.

Also on the list includes the immediate past Corps Marshal and Chief Executive of Federal Road Safety Corps (FRSC) Dr Boboye Oyeyemi, OFR, Minister of Information and Culture Alhaji Lai Mohammed, CON and renowned neurosurgeon Prof. Wale Suleiman, CON.

The Grand Mufti of Ilorin Sheikh Suleiman Faruq Onikijipa, OON; Chief Imam of Fouad Lababidi Central Mosque, Abuja, Sheikh Muhammed Tajudeen Adigun, OON; and foremost industrialist Alh. Kamoru Ibitoye Yusuf, MON were among other Kwarans who made the cut.

The honour also saw both  late football legend Rashidi Yekeen and Chief Superintendent of Police, Benedict Okoh Ajide being conferred MON posthumously.

“These honorees are all true patriots who have paid their dues in their various professions, and the decision to honour them captures their services to the fatherland.”

“On behalf of the people and the government of our state, I felicitate these outstanding personalities who — in their respective fields — have etched their names in gold. We similarly commend Mr. President for finding these Kwarans worthy of the national honour. Congratulations!”

Meanwhile, Informant247 earlier reported that the former Senate President, Abubakar Bukola Saraki was missing from the list of the awardees.

Bukola, the former Governor of Kwara state was said to have had a ‘tough and controversial’ time as a serving senator in the first tenure of the Buhari administration. His omission from the list may be unconnected with the political rivalry between the ruling APC and PDP.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *