images 2023 03 20T161036.944

APC’s Bago declared winner of Niger gov’ship poll

Mohammed Bago, the governorship candidate of the All Progressive Congress (APC), has won the governorship election in Niger State.

Professor Clement Allawa, the state collation officer, while announcing the results in Minna on Monday, said Bago won in 20 of the 25 Local Government Areas and polled a total of 469,896 to defeat his closest rival of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Isah Liman Kantigi, who scored 387,476 after winning in 5 local government areas, while the candidate of the New Nigeria People’s Party (NNPP), Yahaya Mohammed came third with a total of 3, 378 votes and the only female candidate in the election, Khadijat Abdulahi who contested under the platform of the All Progressive Grand Alliance (APGA) polled 1, 746 votes.

He said: “I, Professor Clement Allawa, hereby certify that I am the Returning Officer for the 2023 governorship election that was contested on March 18, 2023.”

“I declare that Umar Mohammed Bago of the APC having satisfied the requirements of the law is hereby declared the winner of the 2023 governorship election in Niger State.”

He added that the total number of accredited voters was 899, 488 while he gave the number of votes cast as 889, 956.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *