Plateau govt begins construction of 10 automated vehicle inspection centres The Informant247

APC Govs propose Tinubu, four others for today’s primary

Governors of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) have submitted names of five presidential aspirants who are to partake in today’s primary.

Governor of Plateau State, Simon Lalong, confirmed the submission of names to newsmen in the country’s capital of Abuja.

He said this decision was arrived at, considering the reality on ground and without sentiments.

The five proposed presidential aspirants, who are from the Southern part of Nigeria are: Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu of Lagos State, Chibuike Amaechi of Rivers State, Prof Yemi Osinbajo of Ogun state, Dave Umahi of Ebonyi State and Kayode Fayemi of Ekiti State.

The Governor said President Muhammadu Buhari has tasked the Progressives Governors’ Forum to minimize the number of presidential aspirants and make the submission of their names to the party.

The governor also remarked that the five presidential aspirants are expected to reach an agreement on who to present as the party’s flagbearer.

Three of the five presidential aspirants are from the south west, one from South south and the other one from Southeast.

He said that the proposal was not a decision but a suggestion.

He said it is expected of other aspirants to welcome the idea to prevent controversy after the primary.

He dismissed the claim that the party is planning to present a consensus candidate from the North, insisting that the Governors under the platform of the ruling party, were committed to shifting power to South.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *