images 2022 12 18T152327.966

The Nigerian Bar Association (NBA) has approved an appointments of 150 of its members to National Executive Council (NEC).

The NBA NEC is the highest decision-making organ of the association, next to the Annual General Meeting, and its scheduled meetings are held quarterly.

The list consist of 38 Senior Advocates of Nigeria (SANs) and 112 other lawyers of different levels of seniority at the Nigerian Bar.

NBA President Yakubu Chonoko Maikyau (SAN), made the disclosure in a statement released Saturday by the association’s Publicity Secretary, Akorede Habeeb Lawal.

Apart from the 38 SANs, other “deserving members of the association” that were co-opted into the NBA NEC are “30 senior members (other than SANs) who are over 25 years post-call; 45 active members of 10 years post-call and above but below 25 years post-call; 10 past national officers other than past Presidents and General Secretaries; 20 members of special interest groups within the NBA and 15 active members who are less than 10 years post call.”

The appointments were made at the NBA-NEC meeting of December 15, 2022, in accordance with Section 8(1) (e) of the NBA Constitution 2015 (as amended in 2021), according to the statement.

“This co-option, therefore, is a call to service and there are no financial emoluments (however defined) attached to the same. The NBA President, on behalf of the NEC, thanks all the co-opted members for accepting to serve,” Lawal said.

The SANs are Prince Lateef Fagbemi, Kanu Godwin Agabi, Mallam Yusuf Olaolu Ali, Yunus Ustaz, Albert Akpomuje, Oba Adelodun, Babatunde Ajibade, Olawale A. Akoni, Miannaya Essien, Niella Rabana, Jibrin S. Okutepa, Mahmud Magaji, Elisha Yakubu Kura, Sani Hussen Garun-gabbas, Ibrahim Abdul Atadoga, Sir Steve Adehi, Ama Etuwewe, Emeka Onyemaechi Ozoani, Paul-Harris Ogbole, Abdullahi Yahya, Abdul Mohammed, Moses Ebute, Sani Katu, Richard Ahonaruogho, Boma Ayomide Alabi, Chukwuka Ikwuazom, Asama Kadiri, Tochukwu Dominic Maduka, Dr Mohammed Ndarami, Sammie Somiari, Funke Adekoya, Garba Tetengi, Usman Ogwu Sule, Adekunle Ojo, Prof Bolaji Owasanoye, Prof Isa Hayatu Chiroma, CP Lough Simon Asamber and Olawale Fapohunda.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Characters: 0/150