MDCN data shows only 37 medical schools have full accreditation The Informant247

MDCN data shows only 37 medical schools have full accreditation

Only 37 out of the 44 government-approved medical schools and colleges have full accreditation to offer various medical courses, a data obtained from the

Medical and Dental Council of Nigeria revealed on Friday.

The MDCN is the government regulatory agency saddled with the responsibility of regulating matters relating to medical and dental practices in Nigeria.

The 37 medical schools only have a carrying capacity of 3,530 per year, according to the MDCN data.

The MDCN also noted that the College of Medicine, Ibadan had the highest carrying capacity of 180 while colleges such as Ekiti State University, University of Abuja, Babcock University , Bowen University, Odumegwu Ojukwu University, Bingham University, Niger Delta University, Madonna University, Imo State University, Ambrose Ali University, Delta State University, University of Uyo have carrying capacity of just 50 each.

The MDCN also listed the colleges without full accreditation as follows, “College of Medical Sciences, Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University, Bauchi, College of Medicine, Edo University, Iyamho, Edo State, University of Medical Sciences, Ondo, College of Medicine &Health Sciences, Gregory University, Uturu, Abia State, College of Health Sciences, Nile University, Abuja, University of Medical Sciences, PAMO, Port Harcourt and the College of Medicine, Rivers State University, Port Harcourt.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *