Kogi State Map

Kogi Speaker loses reps bid to ADC candidate

Dr Adams Baba, the returning officer of Kogi State Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Monday in Kabba, declared Mr Idris Salman of the African Democratic Congress (ADC) as the winner of the election for Kabba-Bunu/Ijumu Federal Constituency in Kogi.

It was gathered that INEC on Feb. 26, declared the result of the constituency inconclusive, due to the difference between the margin of win and voided results in two polling units.

However, the commission was able to resolve the figures and declared Salman as the winner of the election with 13, 867 votes, to defeat Kogi Speaker Matthew Kolawole.

Kolawale who contested on the platform of the All Progressives Congress (APC), polled 13,605 votes, Mr Olaiya Olobatoke of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), scored 10,967 votes, while Mr Bello Abayomi of SDP had 536 votes.

Baba also announced that the candidate of Accord party, Seun Sylvanus secured 127 votes, while Adebayo David of NNPP, got 536 votes.

”That Idris Salman of ADC having satisfied the requirements of the law is hereby declared the winner and is returned elected,” the returning officer said.

Meanwhile, supporters of APC have protested over the outcome of the election for Kabba/Bunu/Ijumu House of Representatives seat.
The protesters led by APC Youth Leader Muhammed Uba marched through the streets of Lokoja to the INEC office in the state.

According to him, the announcement of the result after it was declared inconclusive by INEC was against the provisions of the Electoral Act and INEC Regulations and Guidelines, adding that they were demanding the conduct of a supplementary election in the polling units where the February 25 elections were cancelled.

“We call on INEC not to compromise in discharging their constitutional duties of conducting elections in line with enabling laws, to strengthen Nigeria’s democracy,” he added.


Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *