img 1664559865839

Ibrahim Gusau elected as new NFF President.

Ibrahim Gusau elected as new NFF President.

Alhaji Ibrahim Musa Gusau has emerged the new President of the Nigeria Football Federation(NFF) after defeating ex-international, Peterside Idah in a re-run election which held at the Edo Heritage Hotel, Benin City on Friday.

The Zamfara born football administrator had in the first run of the election defeated his closest rivals, former first and second Vice Presidents of NFF, Barr. Seyi Akinwunmi and Mallam Shehu Dikko respectively.

While the former Chairman of Chairmen polled 21 votes in the first run of ballot, Barr.Seyi Akinwunmi was able to garner 12 votes with Shehu Dikko and; ex-international, Peterside Idah settling for 6 and 1 votes respectively.

According to the constitution, the eventual winner was expected to have above 21% of the total votes cast in the face of 44 delegates recognized by the law.

While Akinwunmi and Dikko staged a walk-out before the second round of the election, the rerun, which had only Gusau and Peterside going back on ballot saw the former emerging with 39 votes against 1 with one voided vote recorded.

Gusau takes over from Amaju Pinnick who had spent Eight years in the saddle of leadership.

Meanwhile,Felix Anyansi-Agwu defeated Senator Obinna Ogba to emerge the First Vice President with 23 votes to Eight.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *