Abiodun Oyebanji 1024x935.jpg

Fayemi bows out as Biodun Oyebanji becomes new Ekiti governor

Biodun Oyebanji, the recent winner of the governorship election in Ekiti State on the platform of the All Progressives Congress, APC has been sworn in as the governor of the state.

The swearing-in event took place at the Ekiti state government house on Sunday.

The Informant247 recalls that Oyebanji, who was the governorship candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), was announced winner of the Ekiti gubernatorial election after gathering 187,057 votes, to defeat his two closest contenders — Segun Oni of the Social Democratic Party (SDP) who got 82,211 votes, and Bisi Kolawole of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), who polled 67,457 votes.

The former secretary to the state government (SSG), was sworn in by Hon. Justice Oyewole Adeyeye the Chief Judge of Ekiti State, at exactly 12:53 pm.

Putting on a white agbada with a cream cap to match, the newly sworn in Governor pledged to ensure the protection, defence and preservation of the office as governor.

Eminent political figures at the event include Bola Tinubu; the presidential candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Rotimi Akeredolu, the Governor of Ondo State Governor, and Simon Lalong, who’s the Governor of Plateau State.

Others include Governor of Lagos State, Babajide Sanwo-Olu, Governor of Edo State, Godwin Obaseki, Governor of Jigawa, Abubakar Badaru, Governor of Ogun State, Dapo Abiodun among others.

The new Governor is to take over the mantle of leadership from Dr. Kayode Fayemi, the immediate past Governor of the state.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *