Elections will not hold in 240 polling units across 28 States – INEC

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Monday declared that elections will not be holding in about 240 polling units across the 28 States of the federation in the forthcoming general elections which is scheduled to hold in February 25 and March 11 respectively.

Prof. Mahmood Yakub, the INEC Chairman disclosed this at a regular consultative meeting with leaders of the 18 registered political parties ahead of the elections, saying the affected polling units has no registered voter.

The poling units where elections will not hold are from one in Edo, Kwara, Rivers and Zamfara States to 38 in Imo State which has the highest, saying with the exclusion ot the 240 polling units, election will take place in about 176,606 polling units across the country.

Meanwhile, the Commission also warned that it will not accept a situation where two or more party agents report to the polling units, causing confusion, adding that any agent found to be engaged in such act will be arrested and prosecuted.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *