reps 1024x576

Bill seeking creation of new state in south-east scale through first reading at House of Reps

A bill seeking the creation of an additional state in the South-East geo-political zone on Thursday passed through first reading at the House of Representatives.

According to reports, the state, if eventually created, will be named ‘Orlu State’, with its capital in Orlu, bringing the number of states in the South-East to six and the country to 37.

The bill was sponsored by the member representing Ideato North/ Ideato South Federal Constituency, Ikenga Ikeagwuonu Ugochinyere, and 15 others, and is currently awaiting a second reading.

The proposed legislation availed to newsmen on Thursday indicated that the proposed state will be carved out from Imo, Abia and Anambra.

According to the proposed legislation, Local Government Areas forming part of the proposed state include Orlu, Orsu, Oru West, Oru East, Ideato North, Ideato South, Njaba, Nkwerre, Nwangele and Isu. Others are Oguta, Ohaji Egbema, Onuimo, Ihiala, Uga, Ihiala, Uli, Ozubulu, Akokwa, Arondizuogu, Umuchu, Umunze, Umuaku.

Others are New Ideato North, Nwabosi West, Nwabosi East, Owerre Nkworji, Alaoma, Amaifeke, and Owerrebiri Umuowa.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *