images (78)

Adeoye Aribasoye, the lawmaker representing Ikole constituency two in the Ekiti State House of Assembly, on Tuesday, emerged as the Speaker of the House of Assembly, while a member representing Ado constituency two, Bolaji Olagbaju was unanimously elected as the Deputy Speaker of the House.

The Informant247 gathered that Aribasoye was nominated by Femi Akindele of Irepodun Ifelodun Constituency One and was unanimously accepted by other members of the House during the first plenary session held at the Assembly chamber, Ado Ekiti.

The session was initially presided over by the clerk of the house, Tola Esan before the Speaker officially took over.

The new Assembly was inaugurated through a proclamation letter forwarded by the Governor, Mr. Biodun Oyebanji and read by the Clerk, Mr. Tola Esan, amidst cheers and ovation in the hallowed chamber.

Until his election as Speaker, Rt. Hon. Aribasoye served as the Chief Whip of the Sixth Assembly and also as the Chairman of the House Committee on Media and Public Affairs (official spokesman of the House).

However, in his acceptance speech, the Speaker, Rt. Hon. Aribasoye pledged that the Seventh Assembly’s actions would be in the best interest of the people of Ekiti State, while urging the support of all stakeholders, including the civil society, traditional rulers, the media and their constituents to achieve success.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Characters: 0/150