Full List of Universities in Kwara State, Location and Year Established

List of Universities in Kwara state

There are eleven (11) Universities in Kwara State!

Kwara State, located in North Central Nigeria, boasts a total of eleven universities, as approved by the National Universities Commission (NUC). According to the country’s 2006 Census, Kwara State has a population of about 2.37 million people. These universities provide a variety of educational programs, ranging from undergraduate to postgraduate studies, catering to the diverse academic needs of the state’s population.

The federal government owns the renowned University of Ilorin, one of Nigeria’s leading universities known for its consistent academic calendar and comprehensive range of disciplines. In addition, the Kwara State government established the Kwara State University in Malete, expanding the educational reach for students within the region.

Furthermore, there are nine privately owned universities in Kwara State. These institutions contribute significantly to the state’s educational landscape by providing additional options for students seeking higher education.

Here is a list of the eleven universities in Kwara State, along with their locations and years of establishment as of 2024:


  • University of Ilorin, Ilorin | 1975 website


  • Kwara State University, Malete | 2009 website


  • Al-Hikmah University, Ilorin | 2005 website
  • Landmark University, Omu-Aran | 2011 website
  • Summit University, Offa | 2015 website
  • Crown Hill University, Eiyenkorin, Ilorin | 2016 website
  • Thomas Adewumi University, Oko-Irese | 2021 link
  • Ahman Pategi University, Pategi | 2021 link
  • University of Offa, Offa | 2021 link
  • Ojaja University Eiyenkorin, 2016
  • Muhammad Kamaludeen University | 2023 link

Additionally, for those seeking further educational opportunities in Kwara State, it is advisable to explore the list of polytechnics and colleges of education in the state. These institutions offer specialized technical and teacher training programs, further enriching the educational landscape of Kwara State.